Date Friday 1st June
Venue:    Institute Lecturer Theatre, The Robert Jones & Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital, Oswestry, Shropshire, England.

A good day was  had by all.  The afternoon began with lunch in the doctors mess followed at 2.00pm with lectures in the Institute Lecture Theatre and course dinner at The Walls Restaurant, Oswestry.

Our Esteemed lecturers were:

  • Mr James Scott - Editor of the JBJS (Br)
  • Professor James Richardson -  Oswestry
  • Mr David Williams - Oswestry
  • Mr Jonathon Stevenson - Oswestry
  • Mr N Kiely - Oswestry
  • Gold Medal Lecturer - Mr Michael Stephens - Ireland


The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 10th June 2011 were read, confirmed and signed by the President.


    Mr Eisenstein  presented the Chain of Office in it’s presentation box to the members and explained that it would be displayed in the Institute of Orthopaedics foyer.


It was duly noted that our following colleagues have passed away during the last year.  The president asked everyone to stand and a  minutes silence was up held in their memory.

    Mr Patrick Robertson – a member since 1959
    Mr William Colbert – Honorary Treasurer 1984 - 1994
    Mr R Cowie –  A RJAH/RSH consultant who died earlier this year

PRESIDENT 2013/2014

It was proposed by the Executive Committee and unanimously agreed by the members that  Mr P Lunn should be invited to stand as President for 2013/2014.  An invitation will be issued to Mr Lunn in due course.


It was proposed by the Executive committee and unanimously agreed by the members that Martin McClelland should be invited to deliver the Gold Medal Lecture for 2013. An invitation will be Mr McClelland in due course


It was proposed by the Executive committee that Mr Peter Woodland of Perth Australia should be invited to give the Brian O’Connor lecture.  An Invitation will be issued to Mr Woodland in Due course.


A Statement of Accounts was mentioned and passed. It was noted that the accounts on 31/3/12 held the sum of £8096.45.


Next years meeting will be held on Friday 14th June 2013. It was suggested that the Wynnstay Hotel should be approached and booked if available with the Walls Restaurant as 2nd Choice.


Mr Tubbs announced that the League of Nurses had requested permission to erect a bronze bust in remembrance of Mary Powel in the new hospital entrance, but the hospital management refused to have anything historical anywhere near the new entrance. Members were unhappy with this and it was agreed to offer the League of Nurses the opportunity to erect the bust in the lecture theatre alongside the B T O’Connor  bust.

It was also suggested that the Old Oswestrians could contribute up to £1000 in financial support to the cost of the bust.  Mr Jaffray mentioned that there was a Division of Nursing Studies fund held by the Orthopaedic Institute Ltd of which Mary Powell had been in charge and that this should be used towards the cost of the bust.  Professor Eisenstein to speak to Robert Parry concerning this.  Professor Eisenstein mentioned that Castle Foundry were bronze casters and he will also speak to Lynn O’Connor as to who paid for the B T O’Connor Bust.